ABPM Board of Directors 2017-2018

Drs. Nicole DeLauro and William Chagares

Drs. Nicole DeLauro and William Chagares


The American Board of Podiatric Medicine is pleased to announce the results for the 2017-2018 Election of Directors.  Congratulations to Dr. Nicole DeLauro, elected to her first term on the Board, and Dr. William Chagares, elected to his second term on the Board.



Gina M. Painter, DPM, President
Mitchell D. Shikoff, DPM, Vice President
William E. Chagares, DPM, Treasurer
Stephen M. Geller, DPM, Secretary
Steven L. Goldman, DPM, Immediate Past President


Nicole M. DeLauro, DPM
Melissa J. Lockwood, DPM
Lee C. Rogers, DPM
James W. Stavosky, DPM

We would also like to express our sincere thanks to Dr. Lester J. Jones and Dr. Samuel J. Spadone, who went off the Board of Directors in 2017.  

ABPM Honored by APMSA National Students Association

The American Board of Podiatric Medicine (ABPM) was honored recently as the American Podiatric Medical Students’ Association (APMSA) 2017 Partner of the Year at the APMSA’s House of Delegates meeting in Nashville, Tennessee.  The APMSA Partner of the Year is presented annually to a valued Partner who has displayed meritorious service and support to the APMSA and is their highest honor and expression of gratitude.

Heather Keith, Executive Director, stated, “The American Board of Podiatric Medicine is a valued leader in the APMSA Partners Program. The student leaders of podiatric medicine selected your organization as the 2017 Partner of the Year for your continued commitment to student support and educational programming.”

“We are extremely honored to be selected as APSMA’s Partner of the Year,“  stated Dr. Gina Painter, ABPM Board President.  “As an organization, we feel very committed to the education process and understand the importance of providing students access to as much knowledge and mentorship as possible. We encourage all students to get engaged in the profession’s organizations to enrich their knowledge and prepare themselves for a strong future in podiatric medicine and surgery.”

The ABPM has conducted numerous lectures and receptions enabling students to learn about the value of certification and, in a program spearheaded by Dr. William Chagares, launched a Merit Award program in 2016 to recognize one outstanding graduate student from each of the nine podiatry colleges with a monetary award and certificate.

“The ABPM understands the investment needed in the future of our profession – namely the students,” explained Dr. Lee Rogers, ABPM Board member and Liaison to the APMSA.   “We are honored to receive this award and plan to continue reaching out to the students to provide educational opportunities, merit awards, mentoring and networking opportunities.”

ABPM President Dr. Gina Painter, Vice President Dr. William Chagares and Liaison to the APMSA Dr. Lee Rogers were in Tennessee to accept the award on behalf of the ABPM.



The American Board of Podiatric Medicine
1060 Aviation Blvd., Suite 100
Hermosa Beach, CA 90254